Liangfang Zhang, PhD

Biography: Dr. Liangfang Zhang is the Joan and Irwin Jacobs Chancellor Professor and Chair of the Aiiso Yufeng Li Family Department of Chemical and Nano Engineering at the University of California San Diego. Dr. Zhang received his B.E. and M.S. degrees in Chemical Engineering from Tsinghua University and completed his Ph.D. in Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2006 under the mentorship of Prof. Steve Granick. He was a postdoctoral associate in the laboratory of Prof. Robert Langer at MIT from 2006 to 2008. Dr. Zhang joined the Department of Nanoengineering at UC San Diego as an Assistant Professor in 2008, was promoted to Professor in 2014, and became the inaugural Joan and Irwin Jacobs Chancellor's Endowed Chair in Innovations for Engineering in Medicine in 2021. In 2023, he was appointed as Chair of his department, which was renamed and



endowed as the Aiiso Yufeng Li Family Department of Chemical and Nano Engineering in 2024.

Dr. Zhang's research focuses on creating innovative biomimetic nanotechnologies for biomedical applications such as countermeasures, drug delivery, vaccines, and diagnostics. He has authored 295 peer-reviewed publications and was recognized as a Clarivate Analytics "Highly Cited Researcher" from 2017 to 2023. Additionally, he holds 130 patents and patent applications worldwide. He has received numerous accolades, including Victor K. LaMer Award (2009) from the American Chemical Society, Best Teacher Award (2011) from UC San Diego Jacobs School of Engineering, Unilever Award (2012) from the American Chemical Society, MIT Technology Review's TR35 Innovator Award (2013), Allan P. Colburn Award (2014) from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, Popular Science's Brilliant 10 Award (2016), U.S. Department of State ASPIRE Award (2017), Kabiller Young Investigator Award (2017), and Distinguished Scientist Award (2024) from the American Chemical Society San Diego Section.

Dr. Zhang is a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE, elected 2015), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS, elected 2018), and the National Academy of Inventors (NAI, elected 2020).

http://nano.ucsd.edu/~17zhang/